CIS 22A Course Calendar

 Week
 Day  Topic  Assignment
 1 Monday, January 8
Lesson 1:
Introductions
Why Study Computer Science

 

 Assignment 1
Read Chapter 1
  Wednesday, January 10
Lesson 2:
Computer Hardware & Software
The Binary Number System



Assignment 2 
Read Chapter 2.1-2.3
  Friday, January 12

 




Lab 1


 2 Monday, January 15


~Holiday - No Class~





  Wednesday, January 17
Lesson 3:
Pair Programming
Fundamentals

Our First C++ Programs
Output Using the Cout Object

 

Assignment 3
Read Chapter 2.4-2.7, 2.9-2.13
 

  Friday, January 19



 


 
Lab 2
 3 Monday, January 22
 Lesson 4:
Data Types 
Variables and Literals



Assignment 4
Read Chapter 2.14-2.17
  Wednesday, January 24
Lesson 5:
User Input with the Cin Object
Arithmetic Operators and Expressions
Mathematical Functions




Assignment 5
Read Chapter
2.8, 3.1-3.2,
3.8, 4.1-4.2
  Friday, January 26







Lab 3
4  Monday, January 29


Lesson 6:
Strings




Assignment 6
Read Chapter 4.3-4.6
   Wednesday, January 31

Lesson 7:
Numbers, Operators and Precision
Making Decisions Using If Statements



Assignment 7
Read Chapter
4.7-4.12,

3.2-3.7, 3.9, 5.1
  Friday, February 2









Lab 4


 5Monday, February 5



Lesson 8:
Making Decisions Cont'd


Assignment 8
Read Chapter 4.8-4.9
 Wednesday, February 7Lesson 9:
Logical Operators
Midterm 1


Read Chapter 5.2-5.4 
 Friday, February 9







Lab 5 
 6Monday, February 12





Lesson 10:
While Loops



Assignment 10
Read Chapter 5.6-5.9
 Wednesday, February 14


Lesson 11:
For Loops




Assignment 11
Read Chapter 5.5, 5.10
  Friday, February 16




 
~Holiday - No Lab~

 7Monday, February 19




~Holiday - No Class~



 Wednesday, February 21




Lesson 12:
Nested Loops
Do-While Loops


Assignment 12
Read Chapter 10.7

 Friday, February 23


 






Lab 6


 8Monday, February 26




Lesson 13:
Strings Cont'd
Loops and Strings



Assignment 13
Read Chapter 6.1-6.2, 6.4-6.9
 Wednesday, February 28



Lesson 14:
Functions


Assignment 14
Read Chapter 6.3, 6.10
 Friday, February 30


 






Lab 7
 9Monday, March 5


 
Lesson 15:
Functions




Assignment 15
 Wednesday, March 7

 
Lesson 16:
Functions
Midterm 2


Assignment 16
Read Chapter 6.13
 Friday, March 9



 




Lab 8
 10Monday, March 12



 
Lesson 17:
Functions

Assignment 17
Read Chapter 6.15, 5.11

  Wednesday, March 14




Lesson 18:
File I/O





Assignment 18
Read Chapter 7.1-7.5
 Friday, March 16



 

Lab 9


 11Monday, March 19



Lesson 19:
File I/O
Arrays





Assignment 19
Read Chapter 7.6-7.7
 Wednesday, March 21


Lesson 20:
Arrays




Assignment 20
 Friday, March 23



 
 

Lab 10
 12Monday, March 26




Final Exam