CIS 36A Course Calendar

 Week
 Day Topic Assignment
 1Tuesday, January 8
Lesson 1:
Introductions
Why Study Computer Science

 

 Assignment 1
Read Chapter 1.1-1.3
 Thursday, January 10
Lesson 2:
Computer Hardware & Software
The Binary Number System


 
Assignment 2
Read Chapter 1.5-1.10, 1.12
  Friday, January 11





Lab 1
 2Tuesday, January 15
Lesson 3:
Our First Java Program

Pair Programming Fundamentals



 Assignment 3
Read Chapter 2.2, 2.4-2.91, 3.2
 Thursday, January 17
 Lesson 4:
Data Types 
Variables and Literals



 Assignment 4
Read Chapter 2.3, 2.9.2-2.11
  Friday, January 18




 Lab 2 
 3Tuesday, January 22
~ Class Canceled ~




 
 
 Thursday, January 24
Lesson 5:
User Input using the Scanner Class
Arithmetic Operators and Expressions
Mathematical Methods

Assignment 5
Read Chapter 2.3, 2.11, 4.2-4.4.0
  Friday, January 25




 
4 Tuesday, January 29




Lesson 6:
String Basics

String Methods


Assignment 6
Read Chapter 4.4.1-4.4.10, 3.3
  Thursday, January 31




Lesson 7:
If Statements
Assignment 7
Read Chapter 3.3-3.6



  Friday, February 1





Lab 3


 5Tuesday, February 5

Lesson 8:
String Comparison
Making Decisions Cont'd



Assignment 8
Read Chapter 2.13-2.16, 4.6
 Thursday, February 7


Lesson 9:
Logical Operators
Midterm 1


Read Chapter 3.13
 Friday, February 8



 
 Lab 4
 6Tuesday, February 12




Lesson 10:
Numbers, Mathematical Operators and Precision
Switch Statements

Assignment 10
Read Chapter 3.10, 5.1-5.2 

Thursday, February 14
Lesson 11:
While Loops


Assignment 11
Read Chapter 5.4
  Friday, February 15




 Lab 5
 7Tuesday, February 19




Lesson 12:
For Loops
Assignment 12
Read Chapter 5.3, 5.5-5.6
 Thursday, February 21




Lesson 13:
Nested Loops
Loops and Strings

Assignment 13
Read Chapter 5.7
 
 Friday, February 22



 
 Lab 6

 8Tuesday, February 26




Lesson 14:
Loops and Error Checking
Do-While Loops

Assignment 14
Read Chapter 6.1-6.3
 Thursday, February 28



 
Lesson 15:
Methods
Assignment 15
Read Chapter 6.4-6.6
  Friday, March 1




 Lab 7
 9Tuesday, March 5




Lesson 16:
Methods
Midterm 2
Assignment 16
Read Chapter 6.8-6.9
 Thursday, March 7




Lesson 17:
Methods

Read Chapter 12.10-12.11
  Friday, March 8






Lab 8

 10Tuesday, March 12




Lesson 18:
Methods
Arrays
Assignment 18
Read Chapter 7.1-7.5
 Thursday, March 14




Lesson 19:
Arrays
File I/O
Assignment 19
Read Chapter 7.5-7.7
  Friday, March 15





Lab 9
 11Tuesday, March 19



 
Lesson 20:
File I/O
Assignment 20
 Thursday, March 21




Lesson 21:
Final Project Presentations
Final Exam Prep
 Friday, March 22



 
 Lab 10
 12Tuesday, March 26



 
Final Exam